Press Release

Winners of the 3 rd Chinese University Journalism Award Announced

The Chinese University of Hong Kong Journalism and Communication Alumni Association (CUHK – JCAA) has announced the winners of the 3 rd Chinese University Journalism Award.

Print Media



Feature & Commentary Group Grand Award Mr. Chung-wing TSANG,
Deputy Chief Editor, Chief Leader Writer, Hong Kong Economic Times
Certificate of Merit Ms. Pui-man CHAN,
Deputy News Editor, Apple Daily
News Group Grand Award Mr. Chi-wai CHAN,
Chief Reporter, Ming Pao Daily News
Certificate of Merit Mr. Quinton Yuk-kuen CHAN,
News Editor, South China Morning Post
Electronic Media



Feature & Commentary Group Grand Award Mr. Bruce LUI, Ping-kuen
Senior China Correspondent, i-CABLE News Limited
Certificate of Merit Ms. Berry WONG, Yuk-kuen
Principal Producer, Television Broadcasts Limited
News Group Grand Award Mr. Chris LAM, Kin-seng
Guangzhou Bureau chief, i-CABLE News Limited
Certificate of Merit Ms. Lavender CHEUNG, Wang-yim
Chief Anchor, i-CABLE News Limited

Officiating at the Award Presentation Ceremony, Financial Secretary John Tsang said: “The Chinese University Journalism Award honors journalists who excel in their professional endeavors. The recipients of the 1 st and the 2 nd Journalism Award gained widespread recognition for their remarkable achievements in news reporting.” Mr Tsang also paid tribute to the Chinese University School of Journalism and Communication for nurturing many talents in the journalism, public relations and advertising fields in Hong Kong and many of its graduates are now occupying key positions in these industries.

Mr Tsang hopes that the Chinese University Journalism Award would become a world-renowned journalism award program, just as the Missouri Honor Medal has become a widely acclaimed global communication award scheme.

The 3 rd Chinese University Journalism Award received a large number of submissions this year and the quality of the entries is remarkably high. Fanny WONG, the Chairperson of the Organizing Committee, was impressed by the outstanding performance of the participants . “Today critics always criticize that the overwhelming tabloid reports and paparazzi curtail the importance of news reporting. However, from
the entries of the 3 rd Chinese University Journalism Award, we are happy to know that there are a lot of journalists still possessing an adventurous spirit and the dedication to investigating and revealing issues of current public interest . They serve as watchdogs of the society by making impartial reports with in-depth coverage.”

“In fact, news is omnipresent. Good reporters motivate themselves to discover news and seek for truth, while some reporters wait for news and repeat what other people said. This year, we received a lot of outstanding entries. The objective of The Chinese University Journalism Award is to promote professional practices in journalism in Hong Kong through recognizing the contributions of these distinguished journalists. I hope all participants of the Award can preserve the professional truth-seeking spirit and pass the spirit to new comers. We expect to see more outstanding entries in the 4 th Chinese University Journalism Award”.

The panel of judges included Mr. Chi-wai YUEN, Assistant Controller, News & Information Services Division of Television Broadcasts Limited; Mr. Peter W. KWAN, Senior Vice President (News & Public Affairs) of Asia Television Limited; Mr. Kin-bor CHEUNG, Chief Editor of Ming Pao Newspapers Limited; Mr. King-cheung CHAN, Chief Editor of Hong Kong Economic Journal; Mr. Chris YEUNG, Editor-at-large of
South China Morning Post; Prof. Tin-wai LEUNG, Head of Department of Journalism and Communication, Hong Kong Shue Yan University; Prof Yu HUANG, Head of Department of Journalism, School of Communication, Hong Kong Baptist University; Mr. Walter CHEUNG, Chairman of Journalism and Communication Alumni Association, CUHK; Prof. Clement SO, Director of School of Journalism and Communication, CUHK.

The donors were Mr. Shu-fai HEUNG, Managing Director of Sirius Pac Consultants Ltd; Mr. Walter CHEUNG, Assistant General Manager of Hang Seng Bank Limited; Sun Hung Kai Properties Ltd; CLP Holdings Limited; Ms. Fanny WONG, Head of Public Affairs, Golin/Harris International Limited; Prince Jewellery & Watch Company; Ms. Wai-yee CHAN, Part-time Lecturer, School of Journalism and Communication,CUHK; Ms. Hung LAM, Senior Manager, Marketing Development & Marketing Division, Hong Kong Resort Company Limited and other alumni of School of Journalism and Communication, CUHK, including Ms Lai-meng MOK.

The Organizing Committee members included Ms. Fanny WONG (Chairperson); Mr. Walter CHEUNG, Chairman of Journalism and Communication Alumni Association, CUHK; Prof. Clement SO, Director, School of Journalism and Communication, CUHK; Ms. Wai-yee CHAN, Part-time lecturer of School of Journalism and Communication, CUHK; Ms. Tammy TAM, Controller of Asia Television Ltd.

Mr. Edgar SO Kai-chi, Feature Editor of i-CABLE News Limited , was awarded the winner of the 1 st Chinese University Journalism Award. Mr. Chun-to LAU, Editorial Writer of Ming Pao Newspapers Limited and Ms Sharon CHEUNG Po-wah, previously Senior Reporter of i-CABLE News Limited were awarded a certificate of merit.

The prize of Electronic Media Group of the 2 nd Chinese University Journalism Award was given to Mr. Ka-lun AU, Executive Producer of News & Information Services Division, Television Broadcasts Limited. The prize of Print Media Group was awarded to Ms. Ravina Shamdasani, former reporter of the South China Morning Post.

Contact Us
Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search